Installing Dynare for octave on macosx

This forum is closed. You can read the posts but cannot write. We have migrated the forum to a new location where you will have to reset your password.
Forum rules
This forum is closed. You can read the posts but cannot write. We have migrated the forum to a new location (https://forum.dynare.org) where you will have to reset your password.

Installing Dynare for octave on macosx

Postby ake27 » Wed Nov 16, 2016 9:17 pm

Hello,
I am trying to install stable Dynare for octave according to the manual http://www.dynare.org/DynareWiki/InstallOnMacOSX. I tried: brew install dynare --HEAD --without-check and other options, but it gives the following error:

Last 15 lines from /Users/macbookpro/Library/Logs/Homebrew/dynare/03.make:
make[2]: Nothing to be done for `all-am'.
Making all in mex/build/octave
Making all in mjdgges
clang -DPACKAGE_NAME=\"dynare\" -DPACKAGE_TARNAME=\"dynare\" -DPACKAGE_VERSION=\"4.5-unstable\" -DPACKAGE_STRING=\"dynare\ 4.5-unstable\" -DPACKAGE_BUGREPORT=\"\" -DPACKAGE_URL=\"\" -DPACKAGE=\"dynare\" -DVERSION=\"4.5-unstable\" -DHAVE_PTHREAD_PRIO_INHERIT=1 -DHAVE_PTHREAD=1 -DHAVE_BOOST=/\*\*/ -DSTDC_HEADERS=1 -DHAVE_SYS_TYPES_H=1 -DHAVE_SYS_STAT_H=1 -DHAVE_STDLIB_H=1 -DHAVE_STRING_H=1 -DHAVE_MEMORY_H=1 -DHAVE_STRINGS_H=1 -DHAVE_INTTYPES_H=1 -DHAVE_STDINT_H=1 -DHAVE_UNISTD_H=1 -DHAVE_LIBM=1 -DHAVE_LIBZ=1 -DHAVE_LIBHDF5=1 -DOCTAVE_MEX_FILE -DMEXEXT=\".mex\" -I. -I/usr/local/Cellar/octave/4.2.0/include/octave-4.2.0/octave/.. -I/usr/local/Cellar/octave/4.2.0/include/octave-4.2.0/octave -I/usr/local/Cellar/octave/4.2.0/include -I../../../sources -fPIC -D_REENTRANT -Wall -Wno-parentheses -c -o mjdgges.o `test -f '../../../sources/mjdgges/mjdgges.c' || echo './'`../../../sources/mjdgges/mjdgges.c
.././install-sh -c -d ../../../octave
cd ../../../octave && \
for p in mjdgges.mex; do \
ln -s -f /private/tmp/dynare-20161116-41076-1ncmapr/mex/build/octave/mjdgges/$p $p; \
done
clang -fPIC -D_REENTRANT -Wall -Wno-parentheses -bundle -bundle_loader /usr/local/Cellar/octave/4.2.0/bin/octave-4.2.0 -L/usr/local/Cellar/octave/4.2.0/lib/octave/4.2.0 -L/usr/local/Cellar/octave/4.2.0/lib -L/usr/local/opt/readline/lib -lreadline -L/usr/local/opt/suite-sparse/lib -lsuitesparseconfig -L/usr/local/opt/metis/lib -lmetis -o mjdgges.mex mjdgges.o -loctinterp -loctave -L/usr/local/opt/veclibfort/lib -lvecLibFort -L/usr/local/Cellar/fftw/3.3.5/lib -lfftw3_threads -lfftw3 -L/usr/local/Cellar/fftw/3.3.5/lib -lfftw3f_threads -lfftw3f -lm -L/usr/local/opt/readline/lib -L/usr/local/opt/suite-sparse/lib -L/usr/local/opt/metis/lib -L/usr/local/Cellar/gcc/6.2.0/lib/gcc/6/gcc/x86_64-apple-darwin16.0.0/6.2.0 -L/usr/local/Cellar/gcc/6.2.0/lib/gcc/6/gcc/x86_64-apple-darwin16.0.0/6.2.0/../../.. -lreadline -lsuitesparseconfig -lmetis -lgfortran -lquadmath -lm
ld: library not found for -lgfortran
clang: error: linker command failed with exit code 1 (use -v to see invocation)
make[2]: *** [mjdgges.mex] Error 1
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make: *** [all-recursive] Error 1

What can be done to fix the issue? I have already updated brew and ran brew doctor, and it didn't help.
ake27
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2016 9:08 pm

Re: Installing Dynare for octave on macosx

Postby HoutanBastani » Thu Nov 17, 2016 10:06 am

What is the output of
Code: Select all
> env && echo $PATH && ls -la /usr/local/lib/gcc/6/libgfortran*


Also please post the output of
Code: Select all
> brew doctor
Best,
Houtan
HoutanBastani
 
Posts: 197
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 4:11 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: Installing Dynare for octave on macosx

Postby hhceylan » Tue Jan 17, 2017 2:41 pm

HoutanBastani wrote:What is the output of
Code: Select all
> env && echo $PATH && ls -la /usr/local/lib/gcc/6/libgfortran*


Also please post the output of
Code: Select all
> brew doctor


Hey

Not the same guy but I have the same error code. I will post my error code, and the output of the commands you have written. First the error code after installation:

Code: Select all
> brew install dynare --with-matlab=/Applications/MATLAB_R2014b.app --with-matlab-version=8.4 --without-check
Updating Homebrew...
==> Auto-updated Homebrew!
Updated Homebrew from eb20f59 to eece770.
No changes to formulae.

==> Installing dynare from homebrew/science
Warning: homebrew/science/dynare: this formula has no --without-check option so it will be ignored!
==> Using Homebrew-provided fortran compiler.
This may be changed by setting the FC environment variable.
==> Downloading https://www.dynare.org/release/source/dynare-4.4.3.tar.xz
Already downloaded: /Users/USERNAME/Library/Caches/Homebrew/dynare-4.4.3.tar.xz
==> ./configure --disable-silent-rules --prefix=/usr/local/Cellar/dynare/4.4.3_3 --with-matlab=/Applications/MATLAB_R2014b.app MATLAB_VERSION=8.4
==> make
Last 15 lines from /Users/USERNAME/Library/Logs/Homebrew/dynare/02.make:
make[2]: Nothing to be done for `all-am'.
Making all in mex/build/octave
Making all in mjdgges
clang -DPACKAGE_NAME=\"dynare\" -DPACKAGE_TARNAME=\"dynare\" -DPACKAGE_VERSION=\"4.4.3\" -DPACKAGE_STRING=\"dynare\ 4.4.3\" -DPACKAGE_BUGREPORT=\"\" -DPACKAGE_URL=\"\" -DPACKAGE=\"dynare\" -DVERSION=\"4.4.3\" -DHAVE_PTHREAD=1 -DSTDC_HEADERS=1 -DHAVE_SYS_TYPES_H=1 -DHAVE_SYS_STAT_H=1 -DHAVE_STDLIB_H=1 -DHAVE_STRING_H=1 -DHAVE_MEMORY_H=1 -DHAVE_STRINGS_H=1 -DHAVE_INTTYPES_H=1 -DHAVE_STDINT_H=1 -DHAVE_UNISTD_H=1 -DHAVE_LIBM=1 -DHAVE_LIBZ=1 -DHAVE_LIBHDF5=1 -DOCTAVE_MEX_FILE -DMEXEXT=\".mex\" -I.   -I/usr/local/Cellar/octave/4.2.0_1/include/octave-4.2.0/octave/.. -I/usr/local/Cellar/octave/4.2.0_1/include/octave-4.2.0/octave -I/usr/local/Cellar/octave/4.2.0_1/include -I../../../sources  -fPIC -D_REENTRANT -Wall -Wno-parentheses -c -o mjdgges.o `test -f '../../../sources/mjdgges/mjdgges.c' || echo './'`../../../sources/mjdgges/mjdgges.c
.././install-sh -c -d ../../../octave
cd ../../../octave && \
   for p in mjdgges.mex; do \
      ln -s -f /private/tmp/dynare-20170117-1807-lhgpwp/dynare-4.4.3/mex/build/octave/mjdgges/$p $p; \
   done
clang -fPIC -D_REENTRANT -Wall -Wno-parentheses -bundle -bundle_loader /usr/local/Cellar/octave/4.2.0_1/bin/octave-4.2.0 -L/usr/local/Cellar/octave/4.2.0_1/lib/octave/4.2.0 -L/usr/local/Cellar/octave/4.2.0_1/lib -L/usr/local/opt/readline/lib -lreadline -L/usr/local/opt/suite-sparse/lib -lsuitesparseconfig -L/usr/local/opt/metis/lib -lmetis -o mjdgges.mex mjdgges.o  -loctinterp -loctave  -L/usr/local/opt/veclibfort/lib -lvecLibFort  -L/usr/local/Cellar/fftw/3.3.5/lib -lfftw3_threads -lfftw3 -L/usr/local/Cellar/fftw/3.3.5/lib -lfftw3f_threads -lfftw3f -lm    -L/usr/local/opt/readline/lib -L/usr/local/opt/suite-sparse/lib -L/usr/local/opt/metis/lib -L/usr/local/Cellar/gcc/6.3.0/lib/gcc/6/gcc/x86_64-apple-darwin16.3.0/6.3.0 -L/usr/local/Cellar/gcc/6.3.0/lib/gcc/6/gcc/x86_64-apple-darwin16.3.0/6.3.0/../../.. -lreadline -lsuitesparseconfig -lmetis -lgfortran -lquadmath -lm
ld: library not found for -lgfortran
clang: error: linker command failed with exit code 1 (use -v to see invocation)
make[2]: *** [mjdgges.mex] Error 1
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make: *** [all-recursive] Error 1

READ THIS: http://docs.brew.sh/Troubleshooting.html



Now when I type

Code: Select all
> env && echo $PATH && ls -la /usr/local/lib/gcc/6/libgfortran*


I get this:

Code: Select all
TMPDIR=/var/folders/69/3t33q11s4sb0st6pytt4fql00000gn/T/
TERM_PROGRAM_VERSION=388
Apple_PubSub_Socket_Render=/private/tmp/com.apple.launchd.FFdN0IGyNH/Render
LANG=en_US.UTF-8
TERM_PROGRAM=Apple_Terminal
XPC_SERVICE_NAME=0
XPC_FLAGS=0x0
DISPLAY=/private/tmp/com.apple.launchd.pItlOuIkeb/org.macosforge.xquartz:0
SSH_AUTH_SOCK=/private/tmp/com.apple.launchd.9O4eM4o3h5/Listeners
TERM=xterm-256color
TERM_SESSION_ID=BE025953-3756-4725-B411-B6538F41DEEE
__CF_USER_TEXT_ENCODING=0x1F5:0x0:0x0
SHELL=/bin/zsh
HOME=/Users/USERNAME
LOGNAME=USERNAME
USER=USERNAME
PATH=/Users/USERNAME/anaconda/bin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/sbin:/opt/X11/bin:/Library/TeX/texbin:/opt/local/bin:/opt/local/sbin
SHLVL=1
PWD=/Users/USERNAME
OLDPWD=/Users/USERNAME
ZSH=/Users/USERNAME/.oh-my-zsh
PAGER=less
LESS=-R
LC_CTYPE=en_US.UTF-8
LSCOLORS=Gxfxcxdxbxegedabagacad
HOMEBREW_EDITOR=subl
VISUAL=subl
_=/usr/bin/env
/Users/USERNAME/anaconda/bin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/sbin:/opt/X11/bin:/Library/TeX/texbin:/opt/local/bin:/opt/local/sbin
-r--r--r--  1 USERNAME  admin  1620200 Jan 17 14:54 /usr/local/lib/gcc/6/libgfortran.3.dylib
-r--r--r--  1 USERNAME  admin  7447936 Dec 21 12:56 /usr/local/lib/gcc/6/libgfortran.a
lrwxr-xr-x  1 USERNAME  admin       19 Dec 21 12:56 /usr/local/lib/gcc/6/libgfortran.dylib -> libgfortran.3.dylib
-r--r--r--  1 USERNAME  admin      198 Dec 21 12:56 /usr/local/lib/gcc/6/libgfortran.spec


Finally when I typed
Code: Select all
> brew doctor
, I get the following:

Code: Select all
 Warning: Anaconda is known to frequently break Homebrew builds, including Vim and
MacVim, due to bundling many duplicates of system and Homebrew-available
tools.

If you encounter a build failure please temporarily remove Anaconda
from your $PATH and attempt the build again prior to reporting the
failure to us. Thanks!

Warning: python is symlinked to python3
This will confuse build scripts and in general lead to subtle breakage.

Warning: "config" scripts exist outside your system or Homebrew directories.
`./configure` scripts often look for *-config scripts to determine if
software packages are installed, and what additional flags to use when
compiling and linking.

Having additional scripts in your path can confuse software installed via
Homebrew if the config script overrides a system or Homebrew provided
script of the same name. We found the following "config" scripts:
  /Users/USERNAME/anaconda/bin/curl-config
  /Users/USERNAME/anaconda/bin/freetype-config
  /Users/USERNAME/anaconda/bin/icu-config
  /Users/USERNAME/anaconda/bin/libdynd-config
  /Users/USERNAME/anaconda/bin/libpng-config
  /Users/USERNAME/anaconda/bin/libpng16-config
  /Users/USERNAME/anaconda/bin/python3-config
  /Users/USERNAME/anaconda/bin/python3.5-config
  /Users/USERNAME/anaconda/bin/python3.5m-config
  /Users/USERNAME/anaconda/bin/xml2-config
  /Users/USERNAME/anaconda/bin/xslt-config

Warning: Unbrewed dylibs were found in /usr/local/lib.
If you didn't put them there on purpose they could cause problems when
building Homebrew formulae, and may need to be deleted.

Unexpected dylibs:
  /usr/local/lib/libtcl8.6.dylib
  /usr/local/lib/libtk8.6.dylib

Warning: Unbrewed header files were found in /usr/local/include.
If you didn't put them there on purpose they could cause problems when
building Homebrew formulae, and may need to be deleted.

Unexpected header files:
  /usr/local/include/fakemysql.h
  /usr/local/include/fakepq.h
  /usr/local/include/fakesql.h
  /usr/local/include/itcl.h
  /usr/local/include/itcl2TclOO.h
  /usr/local/include/itclDecls.h
  /usr/local/include/itclInt.h
  /usr/local/include/itclIntDecls.h
  /usr/local/include/itclMigrate2TclCore.h
  /usr/local/include/itclTclIntStubsFcn.h
  /usr/local/include/mysqlStubs.h
  /usr/local/include/odbcStubs.h
  /usr/local/include/pqStubs.h
  /usr/local/include/tcl.h
  /usr/local/include/tclDecls.h
  /usr/local/include/tclOO.h
  /usr/local/include/tclOODecls.h
  /usr/local/include/tclPlatDecls.h
  /usr/local/include/tclThread.h
  /usr/local/include/tclTomMath.h
  /usr/local/include/tclTomMathDecls.h
  /usr/local/include/tdbc.h
  /usr/local/include/tdbcDecls.h
  /usr/local/include/tdbcInt.h
  /usr/local/include/tk.h
  /usr/local/include/tkDecls.h
  /usr/local/include/tkPlatDecls.h

Warning: Unbrewed .pc files were found in /usr/local/lib/pkgconfig.
If you didn't put them there on purpose they could cause problems when
building Homebrew formulae, and may need to be deleted.

Unexpected .pc files:
  /usr/local/lib/pkgconfig/tcl.pc
  /usr/local/lib/pkgconfig/tk.pc

Warning: Unbrewed static libraries were found in /usr/local/lib.
If you didn't put them there on purpose they could cause problems when
building Homebrew formulae, and may need to be deleted.

Unexpected static libraries:
  /usr/local/lib/libtclstub8.6.a
  /usr/local/lib/libtkstub8.6.a


I have done
Code: Select all
> brew reinstall gcc
, but it didn't do anything.

Thanks for the help
hhceylan
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 2:20 pm

Re: Installing Dynare for octave on macosx

Postby HoutanBastani » Tue Jan 17, 2017 3:50 pm

Whenever you have a problem installing via homebrew, the first thing you should do is look at the output of
Code: Select all
brew doctor
. You have many warnings, each telling you the steps to take to take care of them. These warnings can be ignored if you don't have any problems installing homebrew packages. But, if you do, they are the first thing to take care of. So please take care of all of these warnings and try again.
Best,
Houtan
HoutanBastani
 
Posts: 197
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 4:11 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: Installing Dynare for octave on macosx

Postby hhceylan » Tue Jan 17, 2017 8:06 pm

They are not really related to the problem at thand.

The problem is I think this line:

Code: Select all
ld: library not found for -lgfortran


I tried to reinstall fortran but doesn't do anything. It can't find that command or library.
hhceylan
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 2:20 pm

Re: Installing Dynare for octave on macosx

Postby HoutanBastani » Tue Jan 17, 2017 8:15 pm

What is the output of:
Code: Select all
ls -la /usr/local/lib/gcc/6/libgfortran*
Best,
Houtan
HoutanBastani
 
Posts: 197
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 4:11 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: Installing Dynare for octave on macosx

Postby hhceylan » Fri Jan 20, 2017 1:46 pm

Sorry for the late response.

This is the output I get:

Code: Select all
-r--r--r--  1 USERNAME  admin  1620200 Jan 18 16:40 /usr/local/lib/gcc/6/libgfortran.3.dylib
-r--r--r--  1 USERNAME  admin  7447936 Dec 21 12:56 /usr/local/lib/gcc/6/libgfortran.a
lrwxr-xr-x  1 USERNAME  admin       19 Dec 21 12:56 /usr/local/lib/gcc/6/libgfortran.dylib -> libgfortran.3.dylib
-r--r--r--  1 USERNAME  admin      198 Dec 21 12:56 /usr/local/lib/gcc/6/libgfortran.spec


Edit: I also submitted a report to github page of homebrew/science, but so far I did not get any response

https://github.com/Homebrew/homebrew-science/issues/4864

Thanks!
hhceylan
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 2:20 pm

Re: Installing Dynare for octave on macosx

Postby HoutanBastani » Fri Jan 20, 2017 2:30 pm

Ok, so your gfortran installation seems fine. Please take care of the problems reported by brew doctor.
Best,
Houtan
HoutanBastani
 
Posts: 197
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 4:11 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: Installing Dynare for octave on macosx

Postby hhceylan » Fri Jan 20, 2017 6:50 pm

I solved all the problems homebrew pointed. I still have the same problem

Code: Select all
~ brew doctor                                                                               
Your system is ready to brew.


I was able to find a couple of similar problems on net (not Dynare related). Apparently there is an incompatibility between the gfortran baked into homebrew and whatever the Dynare is using.I guess this problem can be replicated on other Mac machines using homebrew now.

Thanks
hhceylan
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 2:20 pm

Re: Installing Dynare for octave on macosx

Postby HoutanBastani » Mon Jan 23, 2017 8:20 pm

I do not encounter the same problem when I install via homebrew so there is something wrong with your setup that is difficult to debug from a distance.

However, you have a problem only if you want both matlab and octave mex files. If you want one or the other, you're ok. Your build works well when compiling Matlab mex files. So, if you only want these, you can just type
Code: Select all
brew install dynare --with-matlab=/Applications/MATLAB_R2014b.app --with-matlab-version=8.4 --without-octave


If, on the other hand, you only want Octave files, you're in luck as these are bottled by homebrew and do not require local compilation. Simply type
Code: Select all
brew install dynare

If you want both you can:
1) Install Dynare for Octave as above
2) Copy the files in `/usr/local/Cellar/dynare/4.4.3_3/lib/dynare/mex/octave` to your desktop
3) run `brew uninstall dynare`
4) Install Dynare for Matlab as above
5) Copy the files from step 2 to `/usr/local/Cellar/dynare/4.4.3_3/lib/dynare/mex/octave`
Best,
Houtan
HoutanBastani
 
Posts: 197
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 4:11 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: Installing Dynare for octave on macosx

Postby AS90 » Thu Jan 26, 2017 1:06 pm

Dear sir, I kindly ask a few clarifying questions.

1a. At this (http://www.dynare.org/download/octave) link it says that for 10.8 systems and beyond Octave is to be installed via Homebrew: will Dynare therefore work with Octave's latest version, as I here (http://www.dynare.org/DynareWiki/InstallOnMacOSX) instead seem to read to install Octave 3.6.4 for systems beyond the 10.6 release? - Won't Homebrew, in other words, install Octave's latest version?

1b. Further, could this (https://sourceforge.net/projects/octave ... g/download) system bundle yet work for the successful and eventual installation of both Octave and Dynare on OS X Sierra, found at this page (http://wiki.octave.org/Octave_for_MacOS_X)?

2. Presuming successful Octave and Dynare installations, which of these 2 instructions, here (http://www.dynare.org/DynareWiki/InstallOnMacOSX) found, is to be followed:

Code: Select all
2. At the Octave prompt, type: addpath /usr/local/opt/dynare/lib/dynare/matlab
2. Before executing MOD files, you need to execute the following command at Octave prompt: addpath /Applications/Dynare/<<version>>/matlab
?

Thanks in advance for your time.
AS90
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2013 3:22 pm

Re: Installing Dynare for octave on macosx

Postby HoutanBastani » Thu Jan 26, 2017 2:34 pm

Hi,

To answer your question, the only supported Octave on OS X is available via Homebrew, which will install the latest Octave.

I updated http://www.dynare.org/DynareWiki/InstallOnMacOSX to make it more clear as the formatting was leading you to read instructions for Dynare 4.3 even though that is not the current stable release.

So, if you look closely at the instructions for Dynare stable (currently 4.4.3) you see that, once Octave is installed via Homebrew, you should type
Code: Select all
addpath /usr/local/opt/dynare/lib/dynare/matlab


Best,
Houtan
Best,
Houtan
HoutanBastani
 
Posts: 197
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 4:11 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: Installing Dynare for octave on macosx

Postby AS90 » Thu Jan 26, 2017 2:47 pm

Grateful for your helpful answer. One further query, please: will addpath /usr/local/opt/dynare/lib/dynare/matlab also work for the unstable version? Thanks.
AS90
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2013 3:22 pm

Re: Installing Dynare for octave on macosx

Postby HoutanBastani » Thu Jan 26, 2017 2:57 pm

Best,
Houtan
HoutanBastani
 
Posts: 197
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 4:11 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: Installing Dynare for octave on macosx

Postby AS90 » Thu Jan 26, 2017 10:06 pm

Much obliged.
AS90
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2013 3:22 pm

Next

Return to Dynare help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 7 guests