Solver matrix (close to) singular: how to troubleshoot

This forum is closed. You can read the posts but cannot write. We have migrated the forum to a new location where you will have to reset your password.
Forum rules
This forum is closed. You can read the posts but cannot write. We have migrated the forum to a new location (https://forum.dynare.org) where you will have to reset your password.

Solver matrix (close to) singular: how to troubleshoot

Postby ryoanji » Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:54 pm

I am new to Dynare and have been very impressed with its capabilities. At the moment, I am trying to replicate the results in Aoki Benigno Kiyotaki (2016) Monetary and Financial Policies in EMEs working paper. Since I am still learning a lot, I decided to go slow: from simple to more complex. I am trying to replicate the basic closed economy model in their set-up, then add sticky prices, then open up the economy, then add "bankers." I am fine with former, but when I add Rotemberg's sticky prices equations, I am running into a lot of problems.

1. Steady state solver reaches maxit and fails to converge.
Impossible to find the steady state. Either the model doesn't have a steady state, there are an infinity of steady states,
or the guess values are too far from the solution

Error in steady (line 92)
print_info(info,options_.noprint, options_);

2. When I specify steady_state_model, everything goes throw but I get a warning:
Warning: Matrix is close to singular or badly scaled. Results may be inaccurate. RCOND = 7.653498e-20.

and IRFs are explosive
stoch_simul:: The simulations conducted for generating IRFs to eA were explosive.
stoch_simul:: No IRFs will be displayed. Either reduce the shock size,
stoch_simul:: use pruning, or set the approximation order to 1.

that is with second order perturbation, when I drop the order to 1, I get matrix singularity
One of the eigenvalues is close to 0/0 (the absolute value of numerator and denominator is smaller than 1e-06!