Page 1 of 1

A question about OSR command and policy frontier

PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2017 4:37 pm
by zhanshuo
Dear all,
I am now using OSR to calculate the simple optimal rule and plot the policy frontier.
But I find that all the papers on the topic of policy frontier have given a limitation on variance of the key variable,e.g., in Iacoviello(2005), "I constrain interest rate volatility by imposing an upper bound 25 percent larger than the estimated standard deviation..."
So how should I put a variance constraint in OSR?
Thanks.

Re: A question about OSR command and policy frontier

PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2017 1:53 pm
by zhanshuo
Anyone knows that?
Great thanks.

Re: A question about OSR command and policy frontier

PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2017 7:08 pm
by jpfeifer
That is not easy to impose. Dynare allows you to impose bounds on the parameters, not on the endogenous objects. In the exampe posted at http://www.dynare.org/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=11750 you would probably need to check whether
Code: Select all
var_y(grid_iter)

is above a particular value and then set the output to NaN.

Re: A question about OSR command and policy frontier

PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2017 7:34 am
by zhanshuo
Thanks, I will try.
And could you tell me how to impose constraint on the value of the parameters?

Re: A question about OSR command and policy frontier

PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2017 9:22 am
by jpfeifer
See the manual of the unstable version/4.5 on
Code: Select all
osr_params_bounds

Re: A question about OSR command and policy frontier

PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2017 6:43 am
by zhanshuo
Thanks a lot!
So is there a guide for how to setup dynare 4.5?
and can it co-exist with 4.4.3?

Re: A question about OSR command and policy frontier

PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2017 7:57 pm
by jpfeifer
The unstable version is available at http://www.dynare.org/download/dynare-unstable/
You can select the Dynare version you want to use by providing Matlab with the path to the Matlab subfolder of the respective Dynare version.

Re: A question about OSR command and policy frontier

PostPosted: Sun Jan 15, 2017 2:40 pm
by zhanshuo
Thanks a lot .
So if I simultaneously add both 4.43 and 4.5 unstable into the matlab path, which version will matlab choose to run ?
And how could I choose to run one of these two versions if I wanna to manually, if both of them are in my matlab path?

Re: A question about OSR command and policy frontier

PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2017 10:53 am
by jpfeifer
Always only add the one you want to your path. For example, when you use 4.4.3, use something like
Code: Select all
addpath('C:\dynare\4.4.3\matlab')

in Matlab to select 4.4.3 (of course with your path)