simult_ with order=2 causes a problem.

This forum is closed. You can read the posts but cannot write. We have migrated the forum to a new location where you will have to reset your password.
Forum rules
This forum is closed. You can read the posts but cannot write. We have migrated the forum to a new location (https://forum.dynare.org) where you will have to reset your password.

simult_ with order=2 causes a problem.

Postby leolee » Thu Mar 23, 2017 12:38 am

Dear all,

I'd like to ask how to use simult_ command.

The following code is how I usually conduct a simulation using simult_ command (with order=2)

Code: Select all
ee = randn(1000,5); stdev = M_.params(29:33);
ex = ee * diag(stdev) *0; dr=oo_.dr; iorder=2; y0=oo_.dr.ys;
y_=simult_(y0, dr, ex_, iorder);


My question is, even though I let all the innovations be zero (as you can see from the code), the simulated values are not constant at their steady state level. They were when the order =1, but not when order =2.

It seems to me that "oo_.dr.ghs2" term deviates an endogenous variable from its steady state level (without any shock) and begins some dynamics.

Do I understand correctly? Even if it is right, It just seems weird to me that variables move away from their steady state even when there are no shocks.

Best,
Leo
leolee
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2015 9:54 am

Re: simult_ with order=2 causes a problem.

Postby jpfeifer » Thu Mar 23, 2017 8:40 am

Dear Leo,
this is a by now well-known property. The simulation you describe causes the system to transition to the stochastic steady state. See http://www.dynare.org/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=6555
------------
Johannes Pfeifer
University of Cologne
https://sites.google.com/site/pfeiferecon/
jpfeifer
 
Posts: 6940
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 4:02 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany

Re: simult_ with order=2 causes a problem.

Postby leolee » Fri Mar 24, 2017 12:56 am

jpfeifer wrote:Dear Leo,
this is a by now well-known property. The simulation you describe causes the system to transition to the stochastic steady state. See http://www.dynare.org/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=6555


Thank you prof. Pfeifer,

Can I make one more following question? I read the thread you mentioned. If I understand correctly, I should use "stochastic steady state" if I'd like to simulate my model or calculate IRFs using simult_.

Following code is how I simulated my model for 25,000 periods using simult_ and order=2 using "stochastic steady state". Am I doing right?

Code: Select all
ex_ = zeros(1000,5); y0=oo_.dr.ys; dr=oo_.dr; iorder=2;
y_=simult_(y0, dr, ex_, iorder);
% This block is used to get stochastic steady state

ee = randn(25000,5); stdev = M_.params(29:33);
ex_ = ee * diag(stdev); dr=oo_.dr; iorder=2; y0 = y_(:,1000);
y_=simult_(y0, dr, ex_, iorder);


Best,
Leo
leolee
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2015 9:54 am

Re: simult_ with order=2 causes a problem.

Postby jpfeifer » Fri Mar 24, 2017 8:12 am

No, all I am saying is in the simulation you performed, you will see a transition to the stochastic steady state. The question now is what you want to achieve. There are two types of IRFs you can use: Generalized IRFs or the ones at the stochastic steady state.
------------
Johannes Pfeifer
University of Cologne
https://sites.google.com/site/pfeiferecon/
jpfeifer
 
Posts: 6940
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 4:02 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany


Return to Dynare help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests