Loading steady state values in version 4

This forum is closed. You can read the posts but cannot write. We have migrated the forum to a new location where you will have to reset your password.
Forum rules
This forum is closed. You can read the posts but cannot write. We have migrated the forum to a new location (https://forum.dynare.org) where you will have to reset your password.

Loading steady state values in version 4

Postby andecoms » Wed Apr 29, 2009 10:37 pm

Hi Michel,

In version 3 I used the following matlab code to load the steady state values from the previous run (and in this case to add another variable to the steady state file with value -50):

load Version1011;
ys_=[ys_(1:28);-50;ys_(29:end)];
steady;
check;
save Version1011 ys_;

This was a useful way to make sure steady started from good initial values.

This no longer seems to work in the new version of dynare. What is the correct way to code this now, given that the steady state values are stored in oo_.steadystate?

thanks
Magnus
andecoms
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 10:02 pm

Re: Loading steady state values in version 4

Postby MichelJuillard » Thu Apr 30, 2009 8:12 pm

Dear Magnus,

you should be able to do exactly the same thing with oo_.steadystate, except that in version 4, variables are stored in declaration order (as in VAR) and not alphabetically anymore. It is the order listed in M_.endo_names

Best

Michel
MichelJuillard
 
Posts: 680
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2004 10:51 am

Re: Loading steady state values in version 4

Postby andecoms » Mon May 04, 2009 9:46 pm

Thanks Michel,

does the code:

load_params_and_steady_state ss42809;
steady;
save_params_and_steady_state ss42809;

accomplish the same thing?

thanks
m
andecoms
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 10:02 pm

Re: Loading steady state values in version 4

Postby MichelJuillard » Tue May 05, 2009 8:13 am

I don't know
load_params_and_steady_state
and
save_params_and_steady_state

and in your first example, you were modifying the retrieved steady state ....

m
MichelJuillard
 
Posts: 680
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2004 10:51 am

Re: Loading steady state values in version 4

Postby andecoms » Tue May 05, 2009 1:49 pm

The codes

load_params_and_steady_state
and
save_params_and_steady_state

are referenced in the Dynare manual 4.14.1 and 4.14.2 and it seems to improve Dynare's ability to find a steady state.

m
andecoms
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 10:02 pm


Return to Dynare help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests