Error!!!! evalin('base',fname) ;

This forum is closed. You can read the posts but cannot write. We have migrated the forum to a new location where you will have to reset your password.
Forum rules
This forum is closed. You can read the posts but cannot write. We have migrated the forum to a new location (https://forum.dynare.org) where you will have to reset your password.

Error!!!! evalin('base',fname) ;

Postby vero_acurio » Thu Jun 25, 2009 8:26 pm

Hi,

I'm trying to use dynare. When I open le exemple1's manual, I have a error.

This is it

dynare C:\dynare\4.0.4\ejemplos\example1.mod

Configuring Dynare ...
[mex] Generalized QZ.
[mex] Sylvester equation solution.
[mex] Kronecker products.
[mex] Sparse kronecker products.

Starting Dynare ...
Starting preprocessing of the model file ...
WARNING: C:\dynare\4.0.4\ejemplos\example1.mod:5.11-25: Symbol beta declared twice.
6 equation(s) found
Processing derivation ...
Processing Order 1... done
Processing Order 2... done
Processing outputs ...
Preprocessing completed.
Starting Matlab computing ...

??? Error: Unexpected MATLAB operator.

Error in ==> dynare at 103
evalin('base',fname) ;

I have not idea about what's happening. Help please!!

Att.,
Verónica
Attachments
example1.mod
(740 Bytes) Downloaded 443 times
vero_acurio
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 7:40 pm

Re: Error!!!! evalin('base',fname) ;

Postby StephaneAdjemian » Fri Jun 26, 2009 8:34 am

Hi Véronica, I tried your mod file and was unable to reproduce the eror message (even if you introduced some "bugs" in the mod file). Your problem seems related to the use of the evalin matlab's function. What is your version of matlab ?

Best, Stéphane.
Stéphane Adjemian
Université du Maine, GAINS and DynareTeam
https://stepan.adjemian.eu
StephaneAdjemian
 
Posts: 429
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2005 4:24 pm
Location: Paris, France.

Re: Error!!!! evalin('base',fname) ;

Postby vero_acurio » Fri Jun 26, 2009 6:58 pm

it's Matlab 7.4.0.287 R2007a
vero_acurio
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 7:40 pm

Re: Error!!!! evalin('base',fname) ;

Postby MichelJuillard » Fri Jul 03, 2009 7:27 pm

I think that you need to CD to the directory where your file is:

cd C:\dynare\4.0.4\ejemplos
dynare example1

Best

Michel
MichelJuillard
 
Posts: 680
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2004 10:51 am

Re: Error!!!! evalin('base',fname) ;

Postby vero_acurio » Wed Jul 08, 2009 9:38 pm

Yes you're rigth. that was the problem!!

Gracias!!!!!!
vero_acurio
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 7:40 pm

Re: Error!!!! evalin('base',fname) ;

Postby jdacuddy » Tue Jan 12, 2010 8:48 pm

I am sorry to re-open this subject, but I too obtained the error mentioned, and the "cd" method did not work for me (see below). I am using Matlab R2007a 7.4.0.287, under Windows7, with the "Windows 2000 compatibility" workaround to get Matlab to function. Any help to solve what is undoubtedly a simple error would be appreciated. Regards.

>> which dynare
D:\Quant\Dynare\Dynare_v4.1.0_23Dec2009\matlab\dynare.m
>> dynare D:\Quant\Dynare\work\lubikschorf2007.mod

Configuring Dynare ...
[mex] Generalized QZ.
[m] Sylvester equation solution.
[mex] Kronecker products.
[mex] Sparse kronecker products.
[mex] Fast model evaluation.

Starting Dynare ...
Starting preprocessing of the model file ...
8 equation(s) found
Processing derivation ...
Processing Order 1... done
Processing Order 2... done
Processing outputs ...
Preprocessing completed.
Starting Matlab computing ...

??? Error: Unexpected MATLAB operator.

Error in ==> dynare at 102
evalin('base',fname) ;


>> cd D:\Quant\Dynare\work
>> dynare lubikschorf2007
??? Undefined function or method 'dynare' for input arguments of type 'char'.
Prof. J.D.A. Cuddy
Graduate Institute of International Studies
132, rue de Lausanne
CH-1211 Geneva Switzerland
john.cuddy@graduateinstitute.ch
jdacuddy
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 1:47 pm

Re: Error!!!! evalin('base',fname) ;

Postby SébastienVillemot » Wed Jan 13, 2010 10:02 am

Hi,

There seems to be an problem with your installation of Dynare. Please check the following points:

1) Clean your MATLAB path, by removing any pointer to an old or current version of Dynare
2) Maybe reinstall Dynare 4.1.0, using the Windows installer on the website: it looks like you don't have all the MEX files (the one for "Sylvester equation" is missing)
3) Then run MATLAB, and type the following
Code: Select all
addpath D:\Quant\Dynare\Dynare_v4.1.0_23Dec2009\matlab
cd D:\Quant\Dynare\work
dynare lubikschorf2007.mod


In other words, you have to add Dynare "matlab" subdirectory to the path; and you need to first CD to the directory where your MOD file is, then run Dynare from there.

Hope that helps
Sébastien Villemot
Economist at OFCE – Sciences Po
SébastienVillemot
 
Posts: 706
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 2:29 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: Error!!!! evalin('base',fname) ;

Postby jdacuddy » Wed Jan 13, 2010 12:39 pm

Thank you very much! Following your suggestion, I have re-installed Dynare and now it works. (Curiously, for info, everything worked fine with Octave even before re-installation ...)
Regards
Prof. J.D.A. Cuddy
Graduate Institute of International Studies
132, rue de Lausanne
CH-1211 Geneva Switzerland
john.cuddy@graduateinstitute.ch
jdacuddy
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 1:47 pm

Re: Error!!!! evalin('base',fname) ;

Postby pete2010 » Wed Feb 17, 2010 4:05 pm

I am also sorry to raise the subject again, but I am experiencing somewhat similar problem. I can't open the .mod file and the error code in my case is 108

>> addpath c:\dynare\4.1.0\matlab
>> cd c:\dynare\4.1.0\matlab
>> Dynare minetest
Warning: Could not find an exact (case-sensitive) match for 'Dynare'.
c:\dynare\4.1.0\matlab\dynare.m is a case-insensitive match and will be used instead.
You can improve the performance of your code by using exact
name matches and we therefore recommend that you update your
usage accordingly. Alternatively, you can disable this warning using
warning('off','MATLAB:dispatcher:InexactMatch').

Configuring Dynare ...
[mex] Generalized QZ.
[mex] Sylvester equation solution.
[mex] Kronecker products.
[mex] Sparse kronecker products.
[mex] Bytecode evaluation.
[mex] k-order perturbation solver.
[mex] k-order solution simulation.

??? Error using ==> dynare at 108
DYNARE: can't open minetest.mod

I am currently using Matlab2007a on Windows 7.

Anyone knows what might be the problem?

Thanks,

Pete
pete2010
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 3:26 pm

Re: Error!!!! evalin('base',fname) ;

Postby SébastienVillemot » Mon Feb 22, 2010 4:21 pm

Why do you 'cd' to the 'matlab' subdirectory of Dynare?

This directory contains internal M-files, and should not contain your MOD file. In your case, it seems indeed that your MOD file is not there.

Suppose that your MOD-file is in c:\dynare\work\minitest.mod, you should type:
Code: Select all
addpath c:\dynare\4.1.0\matlab
cd c:\dynare\work
dynare minitest
Sébastien Villemot
Economist at OFCE – Sciences Po
SébastienVillemot
 
Posts: 706
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 2:29 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: Error!!!! evalin('base',fname) ;

Postby pete2010 » Tue Feb 23, 2010 8:57 pm

thanks a lot Sébastien, now i see the problem.
pete2010
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 3:26 pm

Re: Error!!!! evalin('base',fname) ;

Postby audrey64140 » Wed May 26, 2010 5:36 pm

dear,

When using Dynare the following error message appears:


addpath c:\dynare\4.1.1\matlab
cd c:\dynare\work\cours4
dynare simul_olg


Configuring Dynare ...
[mex] Generalized QZ.
[mex] Sylvester equation solution.
[mex] Kronecker products.
[mex] Sparse kronecker products.
[mex] Bytecode evaluation.
[mex] k-order perturbation solver.
[mex] k-order solution simulation.

Starting Dynare (version 4.1.1).
Starting preprocessing of the model file ...
Found 19 equation(s).
Evaluating expressions...done
Computing static model derivatives:
- order 1
Computing dynamic model derivatives:
- order 1
Processing outputs ...done
Preprocessing completed.
Starting MATLAB/Octave computing.

??? Error: File: simul_olg.m Line: 121 Column: 73
Unexpected MATLAB operator.

Error in ==> dynare at 132
evalin('base',fname) ;

attachments
simul_olg.mod
simul_olg.mod
(3.46 KiB) Downloaded 428 times


We also tried to re-install dynare 4.1.1;
I am using matlab R2007a 7.4.0 under windows7


Any help to solve would be very appreciated.

Best regards,

audrey
audrey64140
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 1:49 pm

Re: Error!!!! evalin('base',fname) ;

Postby jpfeifer » Wed May 26, 2010 7:06 pm

If you click on the error message, simul_olg.m opens and you see what's the problem. The preprocessor did not recognize your comments like
Code: Select all
// do "help log10" - log10 <> log
as comments.
You should delete these comments or move them to an own line and the code will run. Note that there is also a semicolon missing after
Code: Select all
load param_matrix
------------
Johannes Pfeifer
University of Cologne
https://sites.google.com/site/pfeiferecon/
jpfeifer
 
Posts: 6940
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 4:02 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany

Re: Error!!!! evalin('base',fname) ;

Postby audrey64140 » Wed May 26, 2010 7:32 pm

Thank you for your post !!but it doesn't change anything, i have always the same comments!!!
audrey64140
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 1:49 pm

Re: Error!!!! evalin('base',fname) ;

Postby jpfeifer » Wed May 26, 2010 7:33 pm

Then please post the param_matrix-file.
------------
Johannes Pfeifer
University of Cologne
https://sites.google.com/site/pfeiferecon/
jpfeifer
 
Posts: 6940
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 4:02 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany

Next

Return to Dynare help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests