Page 1 of 1

Dynare on Matlab 2008 Linux 64 bit: problems with ordqz

PostPosted: Wed Nov 04, 2009 4:28 pm
by lombard
Hi,

I have the following problem

I start Matlab 2008 on a Linux server.

I have 2 matrices A and B. I use function qz and ordqz of Matlab w/o having used Dynare since starting Matlab and get correct results.

then I run Dynare once. I repeat the experiment and I get warning messages of divisions by zero when use the function ordqz.

There does not seem to
be clashes with functions names (indeed it happens even if I remove Dynare from the path)

I attach the two matrices (change the extension from txt to mat). You can try to reproduce the problem by typing in Matlab

Code: Select all
load A_matrix_tes
load B_matrix_tes
[a,b,Q,Z]=qz(A,B);
[a1,b1,Q1,Z1]=ordqz(a,b,Q,Z,'udo');


Best

Gianni

Re: Dynare on Matlab 2008 Linux 64 bit: problems with ordqz

PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 9:46 am
by SébastienVillemot
Hi Gianni,

This is because Dynare activates the display of all warnings.

Launch MATLAB, and without running Dynare, type:
Code: Select all
warning on;
load A_matrix_tes
load B_matrix_tes
[a,b,Q,Z]=qz(A,B);
[a1,b1,Q1,Z1]=ordqz(a,b,Q,Z,'udo');


You will get the warnings!

So this has nothing to do with Dynare, the problem (if any) comes from your matrices.

Best,

Re: Dynare on Matlab 2008 Linux 64 bit: problems with ordqz

PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 10:56 am
by lombard
Hi Sébastien,

thanks for the reply.
I did not realize Dynare switched all warnings on :oops: .

It seems though that the problem lies with MATLAB 2008.
For those interested...
the matrices I posted are the matrices of a two-country model with financial frictions and sticky prices. It solves fine in Dynare and with other solvers. The function ordqz of Matlab works fine with Matlab 2007 but gives the warning with Matlab 2008 (both Windows and Linux) :evil: .

Best

Gianni