Page 1 of 1

starting dynare++

PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 11:20 pm
by taleksa
I apologize for such a basic question, but how do I start dynare++? I have changed the path of the operating system both on a machine running XP and another one running Vista, but I just simply do not know how to activate the program. I click on Dynare++.exe file, but nothing happens. Do I need to have C++ compiler or something similar?

Since I could not get Dynare++ going, I installed GNU Octave 3.2.3 to try out Dynare 4.1.0 and tried to run example2.mod file that I downloaded from dynare.org. This is what I got:

GNU Octave, version 3.2.3
Copyright (C) 2009 John W. Eaton and others.
This is free software; see the source code for copying conditions.
There is ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY; not even for MERCHANTABILITY or
FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE. For details, type `warranty'.

Octave was configured for "i686-pc-mingw32".

Additional information about Octave is available at http://www.octave.org.

Please contribute if you find this software useful.
For more information, visit http://www.octave.org/help-wanted.html

Report bugs to <bug@octave.org> (but first, please read
http://www.octave.org/bugs.html to learn how to write a helpful report).

For information about changes from previous versions, type `news'.

warning: mark_as_command is obsolete and will be removed from a future version o
f Octave
octave-3.2.3.exe:1:C:\Octave\3.2.3_gcc-4.4.0\bin
> addpath c:\dynare\4.1.0\matlab
octave-3.2.3.exe:2:C:\Octave\3.2.3_gcc-4.4.0\bin
> dynare d:\example2.mod

Configuring Dynare ...
[mex] Generalized QZ.
[mex] Sylvester equation solution.
[mex] Kronecker products.
[mex] Sparse kronecker products.
[mex] Bytecode evaluation.
[mex] k-order perturbation solver.
[mex] k-order solution simulation.

Starting Dynare (version 4.1.0).
Starting preprocessing of the model file ...
Found 6 equation(s).
Evaluating expressions...done
Computing static model derivatives:
- order 1
Computing dynamic model derivatives:
- order 1
- order 2
Processing outputs ...done
Preprocessing completed.
Starting MATLAB/Octave computing.

parse error:

syntax error

>>> d:\example2
^

error: called from:
error: c:\dynare\4.1.0\matlab\dynare.m at line 132, column 1
octave-3.2.3.exe:2:C:\Octave\3.2.3_gcc-4.4.0\bin


Any help you can provide me will be hugely appreciated. Needles to say, please make any explanations as simple as possible.

Re: starting dynare++

PostPosted: Mon Feb 15, 2010 4:37 pm
by SébastienVillemot
Hi

You should run Dynare from the directory which contains the MOD file:

Code: Select all
addpath c:\dynare\4.1.0\matlab
cd d:\
dynare example2.mod

Re: starting dynare++

PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2011 1:48 pm
by gazzani.andrea
Hello, sorry but I got the same problem for Dynare++. I tried to execute dynare++.exe and nothing happens, and this on two different operating systems, XP and Vista. I added the path as said in the tutorial. Am i missing something?
Thank you

Re: starting dynare++

PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2011 9:20 am
by SébastienVillemot
Are you talking about Dynare or Dynare++?

You don't need to add any path for Dynare++: all you need is to launch the executable from a DOS command prompt (and not from MATLAB or Octave!).

Also, it is normal if nothing is displayed in the screen: Dynare++ puts all its results in files (log file, result file...). See the Dynare++ tutorial.

Also, what version of the Dynare package are you using (Dynare Windows installer comes with Dynare++ bundled)?

Best,

Re: starting dynare++

PostPosted: Sat Nov 05, 2011 12:37 am
by lency
Hi,

I have a similar problem. I have tried to run Dynare ++ (included in version 4.2.2 of Dynare) in the CMD window following the instructions in the tutorial and yet I get an error message.... it says " 'dynare++' is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file" I did run it from the directory where the mod file is.

I have successfully run dynare++ from Matlab some years ago....(when it was not yet distributed with the Dynare). Using the same .mod files that I used then, I now get this error message.

Any idea why I get this error message?

thanks,
Ellen

Re: starting dynare++

PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2011 9:55 am
by SébastienVillemot
Dynare++ has to be run from the command line, not from MATLAB.

The point is that Windows does not know where Dynare++ is when you just type "dynare++" on the command line. One solution is to add the directory containing dynare++ (typically c:\dynare\4.2.2\dynare++) to the PATH (search the web for how to do this). An alternative solution is to write the full path when calling Dynare++ (c:\dynare\4.2.2\dynare++\dynare++ <filename>.mod)

Best,

Re: starting dynare++

PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2016 3:23 pm
by elenak
Hello,

could you, please, also help me with starting dynare++?
I added the directory containing Dynare++ to the operational path, then typed on the command line: dynare++ example1.mod, and received the following:
"Caught Dynare exception: dynare3.cpp:65: Could not open model file example1.mod"

Where was I wrong?
Regards,
Elena

Re: starting dynare++

PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2016 3:54 pm
by jpfeifer
Please provide a step by step description what you did.