Page 1 of 1

??? Error using ==> dynare at 126 DYNARE: preprocessing fail

PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2010 7:51 am
by Kornchanok
Hi,

I tried to replicate Christiano and Eichenbaum(1992)'s model. After finishing writing source codes in the Editor, I created Mod file named "divi_chris" to represent a case of divisible labor. After that, I tried to run program through typing command "dynare divi_chris". A received message is

Starting Dynare (version 4.1.2).
Starting preprocessing of the model file ...
ERROR: divi_chris.mod:4.38-41: syntax error, unexpected NOBS

??? Error using ==> dynare at 126
DYNARE: preprocessing failed

I had no idea what was going on. Therefore, could you have any suggestion about our work? Any comment would be very appreciated.

Thank you


P.S.
I also attach two related files
1) divisble_christiano eichenbaum R02.doc
divisible_christiano eichenbaum R02.doc
divisble_christiano eichenbaum R02.doc represents our FOCs and all equations that relate to mod file.
(148 KiB) Downloaded 130 times


2) divi_chris.mod
divi_chris.mod
divi_chris.mod represents source codes. Writing styles follows your given materials.
(2.35 KiB) Downloaded 165 times

Re: ??? Error using ==> dynare at 126 DYNARE: preprocessing fail

PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2010 7:53 am
by Kornchanok
I am not quite sure whether my windows version has any effect to the error. But just to notify you that my version is 32 bit.

Thanks

Re: ??? Error using ==> dynare at 126 DYNARE: preprocessing fail

PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2010 8:11 am
by Holyknight
I have this problem as well. Does anybody know the resolution?

Re: ??? Error using ==> dynare at 126 DYNARE: preprocessing fail

PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2010 9:45 am
by jpfeifer
Nobs is a reserved command. Call the variable n_obs for example. Moreover, there are several brackets wrong in line 59

Re: ??? Error using ==> dynare at 126 DYNARE: preprocessing fail

PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2010 10:26 am
by Kornchanok
Hi jpfeifer,

Thank you very much for your kindness. But after I corrected my work as your comment. I still have some several problems which are shown as follows

??? Error using ==> dynare_solve at 82
exiting ...

Error in ==> steady_ at 124
[oo_.steady_state,check] = dynare_solve([M_.fname '_static'],...

Error in ==> steady at 52
steady_;

Error in ==> divi_chris at 198
steady;

Error in ==> dynare at 132
evalin('base',fname) ;

I still have no idea. If you could help me again, it would have been very appreciated.
divi_chris_R02.mod
Source code file after correction (but still has problems)
(2.36 KiB) Downloaded 119 times

Re: ??? Error using ==> dynare at 126 DYNARE: preprocessing fail

PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2010 11:25 am
by jpfeifer
You did not specify the steady state value for A. The SS value for Z in the log specification cannot be 0 (log(0)=-Inf), but must be 1. Note also that you should provide initial values for all (!) endogenous variables.