using simult_ with third order approximation

This forum is closed. You can read the posts but cannot write. We have migrated the forum to a new location where you will have to reset your password.
Forum rules
This forum is closed. You can read the posts but cannot write. We have migrated the forum to a new location (https://forum.dynare.org) where you will have to reset your password.

using simult_ with third order approximation

Postby hkucuk » Wed Jun 01, 2011 5:24 pm

Hi, I want to be able to do simulations using third order decision-rules for any specified path of exogenous shocks. I tried using the simult_.m function for the example model (example2.mod in the examples folder under dynare) solved up to a third order. But I obtain an output y_ which is zero everywhere apart from the first column which has the initial values of variables.

This is how I call the simult_ function after running example2.mod for order=3:

I first draw shocks:

E_e=randn(2,2100)'*0.009;

and input this into simult_ alongside the initial values of the variables (steady-state) stored in oo_.dr.ys, and the third-order decision rules stored in oo_.dr :

y_=simult_(oo_.dr.ys, oo_.dr, E_e, 3);

The resulting y_ is a matrix full of zeros. But when I do the same for order 1 or 2, simult_ works perfectly fine. I would appreciate if you could tell me what i'm doing wrong or post an example use of simult_ function with a third-order solution. Many thanks!
hkucuk
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 9:18 pm

Re: using simult_ with third order approximation

Postby gazzani.andrea » Sun Oct 09, 2011 9:52 am

I have exactly the same problem of yours. Could somebody give any help?
Thank you
gazzani.andrea
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 5:30 am

Re: using simult_ with third order approximation

Postby SébastienVillemot » Thu Oct 27, 2011 2:39 pm

This is a bug in Dynare that will be fixed in the next release.

In the meantime, you can edit the file "matlab/simult_.m" and add the following lines after "global M_ options_":

Code: Select all
if options_.order == 3
    options_.k_order_solver = 1;
end


Thanks for your feedback.
Sébastien Villemot
Economist at OFCE – Sciences Po
SébastienVillemot
 
Posts: 706
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 2:29 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: using simult_ with third order approximation

Postby hkucuk » Wed Jan 04, 2012 9:57 am

Many thanks for your help. It works now :)
hkucuk
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 9:18 pm

Re: using simult_ with third order approximation

Postby dphm » Mon Sep 28, 2015 3:11 am

Hi everyone

This is exactly the thread that I need. Because my objective is to feed in this vector of shocks that has over 100 elements into my model and simulate the IRFs.

What was the version of Dynare when this topic was being discussed? Because all that I see in the examples now that are relevant to this thread are fs2000.mod and fsdat_simul.m. But if I were to use the method as suggested in the mod file, I would have to use the estimation command but it only works for endogeneous variables.

How can I simulate the model for a series of exogenous shocks?

Thanks!
dphm
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 12:27 am

Re: using simult_ with third order approximation

Postby jpfeifer » Tue Sep 29, 2015 6:17 am

------------
Johannes Pfeifer
University of Cologne
https://sites.google.com/site/pfeiferecon/
jpfeifer
 
Posts: 6940
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 4:02 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany


Return to Dynare help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 6 guests