Page 1 of 1

permanent shock in a stochastic model

PostPosted: Sun Jun 19, 2011 8:25 pm
by mer
I am a new user. I was wondering whether dynare can deal with permanent (technology) shocks in a stochastic model. Any help will be much appreciated!

Re: permanent shock in a stochastic model

PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2011 8:07 am
by jpfeifer
Yes, it can. See for example the attached Dynare example (taken from the examples and changed to run in the most current Dynare version), where y_obs and p_obs are non-stationary.

Re: permanent shock in a stochastic model

PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2011 10:00 pm
by mer
That's awesome, many many thanks!

Re: permanent shock in a stochastic model

PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2012 8:27 am
by yangv007
i still cant find the permanent shock in his attach, isnt he giving a estimation but not a solution ???

Re: permanent shock in a stochastic model

PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2012 9:59 pm
by jpfeifer
If you have a process with a unit root like
Code: Select all
x=x(-1)+epsilon;

where epsilon is a stochastic shock process, any shock epsilon will be permanent. However, the most common way to implement this into Dynare is to stationarize the model by detrending it, i.e. differencing the system. In this case, you will end up with
Code: Select all
dx=epsilon;

This is similar to the dA in the attached mod-file. However, you might try to directly use a non-stationary shock process like the first one.