Page 1 of 1

model(use_dll) help!

PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2012 3:05 pm
by econactually
I am trying to run .mod file with 'model(use_dll);' but I when I use dynare command with 'msvc' I have the error below:

??? Error using ==> mex at 208
Unable to complete successfully.

Error in ==> mj at 75
eval('mex -O LINKFLAGS="$LINKFLAGS /export:Dynamic" mj_dynamic.c')

Error in ==> dynare at 132
evalin('base',fname) ;

-->when I use 'cygwin' command instead I get :

??? Error using ==> mex at 208
Unable to complete successfully.

Error in ==> mj at 75
eval('mex -O PRELINK_CMDS1="echo EXPORTS > mex.def & echo mexFunction >> mex.def & echo
Dynamic >> mex.def" mj_dynamic.c')

Error in ==> dynare at 132
evalin('base',fname)



Does anybody know how can I handle these problems?
does using model; or model(use_dll); commands make huge differences? Because the code runs perfectly once I write model; instead of mode(use_dll);.

Thanks

Re: model(use_dll) help!

PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2012 7:19 pm
by jpfeifer
use_dll used to be the only option for higher-order approximations. Today it is mostly a matter of speeding up larger models.
Did you make sure your compiler is installed correctly in Matlab (not Dynare), i.e. used
Code: Select all
mex -setup;
.
See also http://www.dynare.org/DynareWiki/ConfigureMatlabWindowsForMexCompilation

Re: model(use_dll) help!

PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2012 1:30 pm
by econactually
Thank you for you reply. So if using model(use_dll) has no difference than just using model anymore, I will continue with using the latter.