Permanent Shock to a Parameter

This forum is closed. You can read the posts but cannot write. We have migrated the forum to a new location where you will have to reset your password.
Forum rules
This forum is closed. You can read the posts but cannot write. We have migrated the forum to a new location (https://forum.dynare.org) where you will have to reset your password.

Permanent Shock to a Parameter

Postby Daniel Bendel » Fri Sep 20, 2013 7:41 am

Hello everyone,

I have a model with a government, which setting taxes following a simple rule. These taxes have a steady state value. I now what to do the following exercise:

I want to simulate the reactions of the model if I permanently increase the steady state value of these taxes: Say, in period 1 to 10 it should have the old steady state tax value and thereafter a new higher steady state tax value.

How can I do it whit dynare??

Thank you all for your help!

Daniel
Germany, Cologne
Daniel Bendel
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 1:06 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany

Re: Permanent Shock to a Parameter

Postby Daniel Bendel » Wed Sep 25, 2013 12:28 pm

Has noone an idea??
Germany, Cologne
Daniel Bendel
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 1:06 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany

Re: Permanent Shock to a Parameter

Postby federico » Wed Sep 25, 2013 12:59 pm

stochastic or deterministic set up?
federico
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: Permanent Shock to a Parameter

Postby Daniel Bendel » Wed Sep 25, 2013 1:20 pm

I have got the solution:

1. You have to specify the parameter as a variable: e.g.: alpha
2. Give it a steady state value as the start value: e.g.: alpha_SS = 0.3;
3. Add a exogenous variable to the parameter: e.g.: alpha = alpha_SS + eps_alpha;
4. Then do a shock: e.g:
Code: Select all
shocks;
 var eps_alpha;
 periods 0:15 15:500;
 values 0 0.05;
end;

So you get that alpha is 0.3 for period 0 to period 15 and then jumps to 0.35 in period 15 and stays there till period 500. Choose a large endtime value to pretend an permanent shock.
5. Then end up with the simul command: e.g.: simul(periods = 500);

This is it. You can see the reaction of your variables by simply plotting them. Of course the interesting part is in the beginning of the periods so do not plot the whole simulation but just the beginning of it.

Greetings,
Daniel
Germany, Cologne
Daniel Bendel
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 1:06 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany


Return to Dynare help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests