ramsey policy and instruments
Posted:
Tue Aug 18, 2015 1:01 pm
by anitazhang
Hi, I have a question about the ramsey policy. Do I have to specify the variables of the instruments? I note that in the example that dynare provides, it seems okay not to specify the instrument option. However, when I run a model by myself, it gives the message:
Reference to non-existent field 'instruments'.
Error in dyn_ramsey_static (line 43)
instruments = options_.instruments;
Error in evaluate_steady_state (line 55)
[ys,params] =
dyn_ramsey_static(ys_init,M,options,oo);
Error in resol (line 108)
[dr.ys,M.params,info] =
evaluate_steady_state(oo.steady_state,M,options,oo,0);
Error in stoch_simul (line 76)
[oo_.dr,info,M_,options_,oo_] =
resol(0,M_,options_,oo_);
Error in ramsey_policy (line 25)
info = stoch_simul(var_list);
Error in model_ramsey2 (line 727)
ramsey_policy(var_list_);
Error in dynare (line 120)
evalin('base',fname) ;
Thanks a lot.
Re: ramsey policy and instruments
Posted:
Wed Aug 19, 2015 8:27 am
by jpfeifer
Have you tried the unstable version? If the problem persists, please provide the codes.
Re: ramsey policy and instruments
Posted:
Thu Aug 20, 2015 5:55 am
by anitazhang
the unstable version works. thanks.
jpfeifer wrote:Have you tried the unstable version? If the problem persists, please provide the codes.
Re: ramsey policy and instruments
Posted:
Tue Dec 29, 2015 3:48 pm
by khdjabbas
I am facing a similar problem. When I ran my code in the Dynare 4.4.3 stable version the error was as follows:
Reference to non-existent field 'G_hat'.
Error in read_variables (line 84)
dyn_tmp_01 = s.(deblank(var_names_01(dyn_i_01,:)));
Error in initialize_dataset (line 32)
rawdata = read_variables(datafile,varobs,[],xls.sheet,xls.range);
Error in dynare_estimation_init (line 475)
dataset_ =
initialize_dataset(options_.datafile,options_.varobs,options_.first_obs,options_.nobs,transformation,options_.prefilter,xls);
Error in dynare_estimation_1 (line 81)
[dataset_,xparam1, hh, M_, options_, oo_, estim_params_,bayestopt_] =
dynare_estimation_init(var_list_, dname, [], M_, options_, oo_, estim_params_,
bayestopt_);
Error in dynare_estimation (line 89)
dynare_estimation_1(var_list,dname);
Error in code1a (line 430)
dynare_estimation(var_list_);
Error in dynare (line 180)
evalin('base',fname) ;
Then I followed the advise given in this forum and tried running the code from a new folder using the unstable version as of 28 Dec 2015. However still I get the following error:
Error using evalin
Undefined function or variable 'emptydatesobject'.
Error in dates (line 73)
dd = evalin('base','emptydatesobject');
Error in global_initialization (line 347)
options_.initial_period = dates(1,1);
Error in code1a (line 15)
global_initialization;
Error in dynare (line 180)
evalin('base',fname) ;
Please help me understand the errors and how can I resolve them?
Best Regards,
K
Re: ramsey policy and instruments
Posted:
Thu Dec 31, 2015 10:40 am
by jpfeifer
The first error is related to your observed variable not being contained in the dataset. The second seems to be a problem with your Dynare path settings. Clear all paths to Dynare from the Matlab path and then reset them.