Measurement error always hit upper bound

This forum is closed. You can read the posts but cannot write. We have migrated the forum to a new location where you will have to reset your password.
Forum rules
This forum is closed. You can read the posts but cannot write. We have migrated the forum to a new location (https://forum.dynare.org) where you will have to reset your password.

Measurement error always hit upper bound

Postby ZBCPA » Tue Mar 15, 2016 12:01 am

Dear Johannes,

Whenever I add in measurement errors as shocks into whatever model to estimate, the posterior standard deviation of measurement error is always hitting the upper bound.
In such scenario, sometimes mode_compute=4 or 9 might fail since Hessian is not positive definite. Then I try to use mode_compute=6 to run MCMC, which is the only way to
solve the problem. If it shows that such MCMC chains finally converge, would the results reliable? Please find attached 3 convergence figures and 1 posterior plot and 1 mode check plot.

Best regards,
Huan
Attachments
twoshocks4me_CheckPlots1.pdf
(15.22 KiB) Downloaded 144 times
twoshocks4me_udiag3.pdf
(18.7 KiB) Downloaded 126 times
twoshocks4me_udiag2.pdf
(23.73 KiB) Downloaded 129 times
twoshocks4me_udiag1.pdf
(24.07 KiB) Downloaded 112 times
twoshocks4me_PriorsAndPosteriors1.pdf
(61.44 KiB) Downloaded 135 times
ZBCPA
 
Posts: 101
Joined: Sat May 16, 2015 4:15 am

Re: Measurement error always hit upper bound

Postby jpfeifer » Tue Mar 15, 2016 7:42 am

Unfortunately, this is a common problem. Any model misspecification is likely to turn up in the measurement error. As most models are severely misspecified, the estimated measurement error tends to be large. It regularly happens that measurement error hits the upper bound if the bound is relatively low. This for example happens in the Schmitt-Grohe/Uribe (2012) "What's news in business cycles" paper and the Garcia-Cicco et al (2010) AER paper with the measurement error specified in the paper (see the note to https://github.com/JohannesPfeifer/DSGE_mod/tree/master/GarciaCicco_et_al_2010).

However, even if the mode is at the boundary, the posterior parameter distribution is typically not degenerate. The MCMC, when started with any valid covariance matrix will correctly sample from the posterior. It might just be inefficient, i.e. take many draws to achieve convergence. Instead of
Code: Select all
mode_compute=6
you might want to directly use the
Code: Select all
mcmc_jumping_covariance

option (see the manual).

Another way around this is to use a more informative prior on the measurement error that pushes the posterior towards the lower bound.
------------
Johannes Pfeifer
University of Cologne
https://sites.google.com/site/pfeiferecon/
jpfeifer
 
Posts: 6940
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 4:02 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany

Re: Measurement error always hit upper bound

Postby ZBCPA » Sat Mar 19, 2016 4:44 am

jpfeifer wrote:Unfortunately, this is a common problem. Any model misspecification is likely to turn up in the measurement error. As most models are severely misspecified, the estimated measurement error tends to be large. It regularly happens that measurement error hits the upper bound if the bound is relatively low. This for example happens in the Schmitt-Grohe/Uribe (2012) "What's news in business cycles" paper and the Garcia-Cicco et al (2010) AER paper with the measurement error specified in the paper (see the note to https://github.com/JohannesPfeifer/DSGE_mod/tree/master/GarciaCicco_et_al_2010).

However, even if the mode is at the boundary, the posterior parameter distribution is typically not degenerate. The MCMC, when started with any valid covariance matrix will correctly sample from the posterior. It might just be inefficient, i.e. take many draws to achieve convergence. Instead of
Code: Select all
mode_compute=6
you might want to directly use the
Code: Select all
mcmc_jumping_covariance

option (see the manual).

Another way around this is to use a more informative prior on the measurement error that pushes the posterior towards the lower bound.


Many thanks,Johannes.

If I make model comparison according to log data density, but one model has one measurement error as a shock, while the other has No measurement error. Would that be a problem?
ZBCPA
 
Posts: 101
Joined: Sat May 16, 2015 4:15 am

Re: Measurement error always hit upper bound

Postby jpfeifer » Sat Mar 19, 2016 8:29 am

No problem. The measurement error is part of the model and nothing in model comparison requires nested models. As long as the data is the same, there is not an issue.
------------
Johannes Pfeifer
University of Cologne
https://sites.google.com/site/pfeiferecon/
jpfeifer
 
Posts: 6940
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 4:02 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany

Re: Measurement error always hit upper bound

Postby ZBCPA » Mon Mar 28, 2016 9:09 am

jpfeifer wrote:Unfortunately, this is a common problem. Any model misspecification is likely to turn up in the measurement error. As most models are severely misspecified, the estimated measurement error tends to be large. It regularly happens that measurement error hits the upper bound if the bound is relatively low. This for example happens in the Schmitt-Grohe/Uribe (2012) "What's news in business cycles" paper and the Garcia-Cicco et al (2010) AER paper with the measurement error specified in the paper (see the note to https://github.com/JohannesPfeifer/DSGE_mod/tree/master/GarciaCicco_et_al_2010).

However, even if the mode is at the boundary, the posterior parameter distribution is typically not degenerate. The MCMC, when started with any valid covariance matrix will correctly sample from the posterior. It might just be inefficient, i.e. take many draws to achieve convergence. Instead of
Code: Select all
mode_compute=6
you might want to directly use the
Code: Select all
mcmc_jumping_covariance

option (see the manual).

Another way around this is to use a more informative prior on the measurement error that pushes the posterior towards the lower bound.

Hi, Johannes,
In terms of mcmc_jumping_covariance, should I use it like this: (I have already run MCMC once)
Code: Select all
estimation(mode_compute=0,mcmc_jumping_covariance=hessian, mode_file=name_mh_mode, replic=1000000,...)
?

Thanks,
Huan
ZBCPA
 
Posts: 101
Joined: Sat May 16, 2015 4:15 am

Re: Measurement error always hit upper bound

Postby jpfeifer » Tue Mar 29, 2016 9:05 am

That combination is unusual. If you already have a mode-file with a hessian, using mode_compute=0 with a mode-file already does the trick without specifying
Code: Select all
mcmc_jumping_covariance=hessian
------------
Johannes Pfeifer
University of Cologne
https://sites.google.com/site/pfeiferecon/
jpfeifer
 
Posts: 6940
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 4:02 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany

Re: Measurement error always hit upper bound

Postby ZBCPA » Wed May 04, 2016 10:38 am

jpfeifer wrote:That combination is unusual. If you already have a mode-file with a hessian, using mode_compute=0 with a mode-file already does the trick without specifying
Code: Select all
mcmc_jumping_covariance=hessian


Dear Johannes,

Since it is common that measurement error hitting upper bound, in such case, is shock_decomposition results still reliable? (If you change the measurement error upper bound , then shock decomposition result would change correspondingly?)

Thanks in advance.
Huan
ZBCPA
 
Posts: 101
Joined: Sat May 16, 2015 4:15 am

Re: Measurement error always hit upper bound

Postby jpfeifer » Fri May 06, 2016 8:19 am

Dear Huan,
the shock_decomposition will be as reliable as you whole estimation. If you worry that the measurement error is implausibly large, you should not trust any results, including the shock_decomposition.
------------
Johannes Pfeifer
University of Cologne
https://sites.google.com/site/pfeiferecon/
jpfeifer
 
Posts: 6940
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 4:02 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany


Return to Dynare help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests