Gali and Monacelli 2008

This forum is closed. You can read the posts but cannot write. We have migrated the forum to a new location where you will have to reset your password.
Forum rules
This forum is closed. You can read the posts but cannot write. We have migrated the forum to a new location (https://forum.dynare.org) where you will have to reset your password.

Gali and Monacelli 2008

Postby xyz » Fri Dec 11, 2015 4:13 pm

Hello everybody,

I am trying to replicate “Optimal monetary and fiscal policy in a currency union” by Gali and Monacelli (2008). I am new to Dynare and I do not know how to solve my problem.

I get this error message:

Error using print_info (line 80)
The steady state contains NaN or Inf
Error in steady (line 92)
print_info(info,options_.noprint, options_);
Error in gali_monacelli_2008 (line 240)
steady;
Error in dynare (line 180)
evalin('base',fname) ;

Attached you find my code.

It would be great if somebody could help me. Many thanks in advance for your help.

Kind regards
Attachments
gali_monacelli_2008.mod
(6.33 KiB) Downloaded 338 times
xyz

Re: Gali and Monacelli 2008

Postby xyz » Fri Dec 18, 2015 11:18 am

Hello again,

I still have problems with my mod file. I divided the model into two separate mod files, one for the country and one for the currency union, in order to see what is going wrong.

The currency model is now running, but I cannot figure out my mistake in case of the country model. I tried to use the mod file of Prof. Pfeifer for the Gali and Monacelli (2005) model as a guidance.

Attached you find both mod files.

Some advice would be very helpful. Many thanks in advance.

Kind regards
Attachments
gali_monacelli_2008_country.mod
(4.38 KiB) Downloaded 254 times
gali_monacelli_2008_union.mod
(3.41 KiB) Downloaded 260 times
xyz

Postby jpfeifer » Sun Dec 20, 2015 2:50 pm

Are you sure this split is possible. Shouldn't there an equation linking the two blocks that will be undetermined when you separate the two?