Kalman Filter and MLE

This forum is closed. You can read the posts but cannot write. We have migrated the forum to a new location where you will have to reset your password.
Forum rules
This forum is closed. You can read the posts but cannot write. We have migrated the forum to a new location (https://forum.dynare.org) where you will have to reset your password.

Kalman Filter and MLE

Postby wzben » Thu Mar 17, 2011 12:22 am

Hi all:

I have a question regarding to how Dynare handle the state space representation of a solved DSGE model. Im working on my methodology chapter, which I set up a small 3 equation NKM as follows:

IS curve: (1+param_1)*yhat = yhat(+1) - param_2*pi - eps(r)
Phillips curve: pi = param_3*pi(+1) + param_4*yhat + param_5*ahat
evolution of technology: ahat = param_6*ahat(-1) + eps(a)

where yhat is output gap, pi is inflation, ahat is technology, eps(r) is interest rate shock and eps(a) is the technology shock. all param_* are in terms of structural parameters. Dynare could estimate the model easily (files are attached under sub-folder dynare).

I also programmed the model in Matlab (under code.zip/matlab), with the hope that I can arrive similar estimated parameters. The model is coded, and solved using Chris Sims' gensys, which give me exactly the same values as in oo_.dr. Then I proceed to rewrite the model in terms of state-space representation, which has the form:

state equation: ahat = F*ahat(-1) + V*eps(a)
measurement equation: Y = H*ahat + W*eps(r)

where Y is the observable variables =[yhat pi]', F = param_6, V=1 H is a 2x1 vector, and W is the 2x1 vector.

However, when I run Kalman filter, the estimated variance of the state variable (ahat) equals to 0, though I have a series of estimated state. I programed in Mathematica, and I found even Mathematica gives me a 0 analytical solution. I know Dynare uses transition_matrix.m to build matrix F and V, but what about H and W? I checked Dsgelikelihood.m, and I could't find any information on W, though it seems Pstar in Dsgelikelihood.m has something to do with matrix H. My gut feeling is matrix H and W caused problem, but I really have no idea.

So, my question is, where did it go wrong? at first I thought it was the stochastic singularity issue, but I have two observables and two shocks, should not be a hassle? How dynare map the solution to the state space representation? I have been stuck on this problem for months, any comments or help is much appreciated.

Thank you in advance for your time and kind help.

Regards,

Ben
Attachments
code.zip
(27.76 KiB) Downloaded 227 times
wzben
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2008 4:11 am

Re: Kalman Filter and MLE

Postby jpfeifer » Sun Mar 10, 2013 12:35 pm

You have to enter the observation equation as part of your model in Dynare, see http://www.dynare.org/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=2490
------------
Johannes Pfeifer
University of Cologne
https://sites.google.com/site/pfeiferecon/
jpfeifer
 
Posts: 6940
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 4:02 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany


Return to Dynare help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests