equation with only (+1) timing

This forum is closed. You can read the posts but cannot write. We have migrated the forum to a new location where you will have to reset your password.
Forum rules
This forum is closed. You can read the posts but cannot write. We have migrated the forum to a new location (https://forum.dynare.org) where you will have to reset your password.

equation with only (+1) timing

Postby paco » Sun Feb 09, 2014 7:33 pm

Hi, all.
My question is simple.

When one loglinearized equation is composed of only (t+1) timing convention as follows,

1) s_ct(+1) + h_ct(+1) = s_ht(+1) + h_ht(+1);

These four variables are not predetermined variables like capital stock.

When writing dynare code, do I have to delete all (+1) as follows?

2) s_ct + h_ct = s_ht + h_ht;

When I delete all (+1) like 2), dynare gives reasonable results.
But When I write this equation like 1), dynare produce following error.

Code: Select all
Error using print_info (line 54)
One of the eigenvalues is close to 0/0 (the absolute value of
numerator and denominator is smaller than 1e-06!
 If you believe that the model has a unique solution you can
 try to reduce the value of qz_zero_threshold.


In this case Do I have to delete all (+1)?
Would you give me the reason why two case are different.

I guess that equation with only (+1) timing provokes rank condition failure or BK condition violation.

Thanks in advance.
paco
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 5:16 pm

Re: equation with only (+1) timing

Postby jpfeifer » Mon Feb 10, 2014 7:27 pm

The Dynare timing convention says that there is a conditional expectation operator in front of every equation. Thus,
Code: Select all
s_ct(+1) + h_ct(+1) = s_ht(+1) + h_ht(+1);

means that the equation has to hold only in expectations. The timing without the (+1) means that the equation actually has to hold for all time periods.
The economic intuition of your model should always dictate the timing.

With the error you describe when using the standard timing, try using
Code: Select all
model_diagnostics

to trace the source of the problem.
------------
Johannes Pfeifer
University of Cologne
https://sites.google.com/site/pfeiferecon/
jpfeifer
 
Posts: 6940
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 4:02 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany

Re: equation with only (+1) timing

Postby paco » Tue Feb 11, 2014 6:53 pm

Thank you for reply and thoughtful consideration.

I agree that we have to make a decision on the basis of economic intuition.
When economic intuition is considered, I concluded that the following equation is valid.

Code: Select all
s_ct + h_ct = s_ht + h_ht;


Dynare give me a reasonable results.
Thank you for sparing your precious time for me.


Typically, model_diagnostics indicates which equations are redundant.
But sometimes model_diagnostics does not produce any results.
Do you have this kind of experiences?
What does it mean?

Does it mean that there is no problem of redundant equations
but this model may have other problems?
paco
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 5:16 pm

Re: equation with only (+1) timing

Postby jpfeifer » Tue Feb 11, 2014 7:50 pm

model_diagnostics is a useful tool that can detect many basic issues. When it detects no problems, it will provide no output at all. But this does not mean that there are no problems.
------------
Johannes Pfeifer
University of Cologne
https://sites.google.com/site/pfeiferecon/
jpfeifer
 
Posts: 6940
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 4:02 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany


Return to Dynare help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests