Standard Neoclassical Growth

This forum is closed. You can read the posts but cannot write. We have migrated the forum to a new location where you will have to reset your password.
Forum rules
This forum is closed. You can read the posts but cannot write. We have migrated the forum to a new location (https://forum.dynare.org) where you will have to reset your password.

Standard Neoclassical Growth

Postby mjs19 » Sat Jan 17, 2015 7:42 pm

Hi, I have the following code for the neoclassical growth model without labor. When I run the code, I receive an error message telling me about multple steady states (which is in fact true, we know k=0 and k=k_ss are both valid). Is this really the error? How can I get Dynare to choose the non-trivial steady state?
Thanks.
Attachments
Neoclassical_without_labor.mod
(656 Bytes) Downloaded 113 times
mjs19
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 7:25 pm

Re: Standard Neoclassical Growth

Postby jpfeifer » Sun Jan 18, 2015 2:57 pm

Your initial values are poor. For your model, the steady state is easily computed. Use
Code: Select all
var c k z;
varexo e;
parameters beta gamma alpha delta rho s;
beta = 0.987;
gamma = 1;
delta = 0.012;
alpha = 0.4;
rho = 0.95;
s = 0.007;
model;
c^(-gamma)=beta*c(+1)^(-gamma)*(alpha*exp(z(+1))*k^(alpha-1)+1-delta);
k=exp(z)*k(-1)^(alpha)-c+(1-delta)*k(-1);
z=rho*z(-1)+s*e;
end;

steady_state_model;
k = ((1/beta-(1-delta))/alpha)^(1/(alpha-1));
c = k^alpha-delta*k;
z = 0;
end;

shocks;
var e;
stderr 1;
end;

steady;

stoch_simul(order=1,periods=100);

------------
Johannes Pfeifer
University of Cologne
https://sites.google.com/site/pfeiferecon/
jpfeifer
 
Posts: 6940
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 4:02 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany

Re: Standard Neoclassical Growth

Postby mjs19 » Sun Jan 18, 2015 6:13 pm

Thanks Professor, didn't know we had the option to manually input the steady state.
mjs19
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 7:25 pm


Return to Dynare help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests