problems after running

This forum is closed. You can read the posts but cannot write. We have migrated the forum to a new location where you will have to reset your password.
Forum rules
This forum is closed. You can read the posts but cannot write. We have migrated the forum to a new location (https://forum.dynare.org) where you will have to reset your password.

problems after running

Postby Terious » Mon Jan 19, 2015 8:52 am

Hello, I just started dynare as a beginner and doing in a baby step.

As I read from the userguide, my current folder in matlab is

c:\dynare\4.4.2\matlab

Also I copied the example1.mod that is given from "dynare"

I run as

>> dynare example1.mod

Then, the error message was

>> dynare example1.mod
Undefined function 'user_has_matlab_license' for input arguments of type 'char'.

Error in dynare_config (line 76)
if ~user_has_matlab_license('statistics_toolbox')

Error in dynare (line 48)
dynareroot = dynare_config;

Any comment is welcome to sort this problem out.

For your reference, I also attached dynare.m and dynare_config.m.



example1.mod is as follows. Thank you very much.

/*
* Example 1 from F. Collard (2001): "Stochastic simulations with DYNARE:
* A practical guide" (see "guide.pdf" in the documentation directory).
*/

/*
* Copyright (C) 2001-2010 Dynare Team
*
* This file is part of Dynare.
*
* Dynare is free software: you can redistribute it and/or modify
* it under the terms of the GNU General Public License as published by
* the Free Software Foundation, either version 3 of the License, or
* (at your option) any later version.
*
* Dynare is distributed in the hope that it will be useful,
* but WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY; without even the implied warranty of
* MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE. See the
* GNU General Public License for more details.
*
* You should have received a copy of the GNU General Public License
* along with Dynare. If not, see <http://www.gnu.org/licenses/>.
*/


var y, c, k, a, h, b;
varexo e, u;

parameters beta, rho, alpha, delta, theta, psi, tau;

alpha = 0.36;
rho = 0.95;
tau = 0.025;
beta = 0.99;
delta = 0.025;
psi = 0;
theta = 2.95;

phi = 0.1;

model;
c*theta*h^(1+psi)=(1-alpha)*y;
k = beta*(((exp(b)*c)/(exp(b(+1))*c(+1)))
*(exp(b(+1))*alpha*y(+1)+(1-delta)*k));
y = exp(a)*(k(-1)^alpha)*(h^(1-alpha));
k = exp(b)*(y-c)+(1-delta)*k(-1);
a = rho*a(-1)+tau*b(-1) + e;
b = tau*a(-1)+rho*b(-1) + u;
end;

initval;
y = 1.08068253095672;
c = 0.80359242014163;
h = 0.29175631001732;
k = 11.08360443260358;
a = 0;
b = 0;
e = 0;
u = 0;
end;

shocks;
var e; stderr 0.009;
var u; stderr 0.009;
var e, u = phi*0.009*0.009;
end;

stoch_simul;

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Attachments
dynare_config.m
(8.69 KiB) Downloaded 35 times
dynare.m
(6.28 KiB) Downloaded 35 times
Terious
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2015 7:36 am

Re: problems after running

Postby jpfeifer » Mon Jan 19, 2015 10:23 am

That is strange, because the function
Code: Select all
user_has_matlab_license

should be contained in the Matlab-subfolder of Dynare. Did you add the Dynare Matlab folder to your path? You can do this e.g. via
Code: Select all
addpath('c:\dynare\4.4.2\matlab')
------------
Johannes Pfeifer
University of Cologne
https://sites.google.com/site/pfeiferecon/
jpfeifer
 
Posts: 6940
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 4:02 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany

Re: problems after running

Postby Terious » Mon Jan 19, 2015 10:46 am

Dear Professor

Thank you very much.

I have done as you told me, and it is working now.

For other beginners, I paste as follows.


>> addpath('c:\dynare\4.4.2\matlab')
>> dynare example1.mod

Configuring Dynare ...
[mex] Generalized QZ.
[mex] Sylvester equation solution.
[mex] Kronecker products.
[mex] Sparse kronecker products.
[mex] Local state space iteration (second order).
Terious
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2015 7:36 am


Return to Dynare help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests