Numeric steady state solution in the model block

This forum is closed. You can read the posts but cannot write. We have migrated the forum to a new location where you will have to reset your password.
Forum rules
This forum is closed. You can read the posts but cannot write. We have migrated the forum to a new location (https://forum.dynare.org) where you will have to reset your password.

Numeric steady state solution in the model block

Postby marcusingholt » Mon Jun 13, 2016 2:40 pm

I have a model where an essential part of the steady state is solved numerically (rather than analytically) through Matlab's fsolve command. fsolve is called from the steady state file.

Now, I wish to include a steady state term into the model block of my .mod-file. Normally, this can be accomplished through pound operators (i.e., #), but pound operators do not accept Matlab functions such as fsolve. Consequently, I am not able to derive the steady state with pound operations in the beginning of the model block.

Is there a way to include steady state terms into the model block of the .mod-file when the steady state is solved numerically through Matlab functions?

Yours sincerely,
Marcus Mølbak Ingholt
Ph.D. Candidate
University of Copenhagen
marcusingholt
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2016 2:20 pm

Re: Numeric steady state solution in the model block

Postby jpfeifer » Mon Jun 13, 2016 4:01 pm

Use the
Code: Select all
steady_state()

command inside of the model block. If the steady state can be computed numerically, this will work.
------------
Johannes Pfeifer
University of Cologne
https://sites.google.com/site/pfeiferecon/
jpfeifer
 
Posts: 6940
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 4:02 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany

Re: Numeric steady state solution in the model block

Postby marcusingholt » Tue Jun 14, 2016 8:32 am

Thank you for your quick reply.

Does steady_state() also work during estimation when parameters, hence the steady state, is continuously updated by the computer? That is, does steady_state(y) update the steady state of y when the underlying parameters that determine y in steady state are changed, e.g., during an estimation?
marcusingholt
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2016 2:20 pm

Re: Numeric steady state solution in the model block

Postby jpfeifer » Tue Jun 14, 2016 10:08 am

Yes. If you make sure your steady states themselves are correctly updated, the steady_state()-operator will take this into account by substituting the recomputed steady state.
------------
Johannes Pfeifer
University of Cologne
https://sites.google.com/site/pfeiferecon/
jpfeifer
 
Posts: 6940
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 4:02 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany

Re: Numeric steady state solution in the model block

Postby marcusingholt » Tue Jun 14, 2016 2:52 pm

That is great. Once again, thank you.
marcusingholt
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2016 2:20 pm


Return to Dynare help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests