Forecasting with Vintage data

This forum is closed. You can read the posts but cannot write. We have migrated the forum to a new location where you will have to reset your password.
Forum rules
This forum is closed. You can read the posts but cannot write. We have migrated the forum to a new location (https://forum.dynare.org) where you will have to reset your password.

Re: Forecasting with Vintage data

Postby jpfeifer » Wed Sep 07, 2016 5:52 pm

Sorry, my mistake. For lower values of eta, the model cannot be solved anymore. You need to find out why this is the case. Is it the steady state? The BK-conditions?
------------
Johannes Pfeifer
University of Cologne
https://sites.google.com/site/pfeiferecon/
jpfeifer
 
Posts: 6940
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 4:02 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany

Re: Forecasting with Vintage data

Postby lelos » Thu Sep 08, 2016 7:35 am

The thing is that model assumes zero steady states. Think I have to look at the BK conditions.

By the way could you please tell me the difference between

Code: Select all
eta, , , ,gamma_pdf,1.5,0.75,1
and
Code: Select all
eta, ,1, ,gamma_pdf,1.5,0.75
??

Thank you
lelos
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2016 11:15 am

Re: Forecasting with Vintage data

Postby jpfeifer » Thu Sep 08, 2016 2:48 pm

The first one uses a generalized distribution, i.e. moves the original support from [0,Inf) to [1, Inf). Therefore, the mode will also be shifted to the right.
The second one uses the standard distribution, but truncates it from below at 1. The mode will thus still be at the same location.
------------
Johannes Pfeifer
University of Cologne
https://sites.google.com/site/pfeiferecon/
jpfeifer
 
Posts: 6940
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 4:02 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany

Re: Forecasting with Vintage data

Postby lelos » Thu Sep 08, 2016 8:29 pm

ok, so returning back to my recursive estimations and forecasts calling everytime a different vintage data set. In order to save some time in the estimation process I want to compute the mode in the first estimation and then load it and doing some extras draws in the second, third, forth,..... estimations until sample exhausts.

Is it correct if I do the following:

Code: Select all
estimation(mode_compute = 6, mh_replic = 500000,nobs=110,.........)
for the 1st estimation
Code: Select all
estimation(mode_file=Recursive_run_2, load_mh_file, mode_compute = 0, mh_replic = 100000,nobs=111,............)
for the second
Code: Select all
estimation(mode_file=Recursive_run_2, load_mh_file, mode_compute = 0, mh_replic = 100000,nobs=112,...........)
for the third etc. ??????

Much appreciated
lelos
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2016 11:15 am

Re: Forecasting with Vintage data

Postby jpfeifer » Fri Sep 09, 2016 4:22 am

This is tricky. You actually want to recompute the mode and run a new MCMC, all while starting at the old mode for mode-finding (using a fast Newton-type mode-finder as the updated mode should be close).

Simply starting at the old mode and continuing the old chain will most probably result in large convergence problems.
------------
Johannes Pfeifer
University of Cologne
https://sites.google.com/site/pfeiferecon/
jpfeifer
 
Posts: 6940
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 4:02 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany

Re: Forecasting with Vintage data

Postby lelos » Fri Sep 09, 2016 1:29 pm

You actually want to recompute the mode and run a new MCMC, all while starting at the old mode for mode-finding (using a fast Newton-type mode-finder as the updated mode should be close).

So,
Code: Select all
estimation(mode_compute = 9, mh_replic = 500000,nobs=110,.........)

Code: Select all
estimation(mode_file=Recursive_run_2, mode_compute = 4, mh_replic = 500000,nobs=111,............)

Code: Select all
estimation(mode_file=Recursive_run_2, mode_compute = 4, mh_replic = 500000,nobs=112,...........)
etc.

1. Is that what you recommend ? the mode_compute followed by the mode_file means that we load previous mode and then continue from there using a different mode-finder?

2. Keepign commands like that, the 3rd estimation will load the mode from the 1st one and continue upon it, correct? will not use the mode from the 2nd one.

3. A fast Newton-type mode-finder could be (Sims's - 4) ??

Much appreciated
lelos
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2016 11:15 am

Re: Forecasting with Vintage data

Postby jpfeifer » Fri Sep 09, 2016 2:27 pm

1.) Almost, I meant keeping the default the default name of the mode-file. That way the created mode-file will be loaded in each subsequent step.
2.) See 1)
3.) Yes, mode_compute=4 is fine.

You also might want to set the
Code: Select all
dirname
option in the estimation command to prevent previous runs from being overwritten
------------
Johannes Pfeifer
University of Cologne
https://sites.google.com/site/pfeiferecon/
jpfeifer
 
Posts: 6940
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 4:02 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany

Re: Forecasting with Vintage data

Postby lelos » Fri Sep 09, 2016 5:05 pm

Thank you for the help and patience.

Do you have any link to share on how 'dirname' is used and exactly does, cause I cant find it anywhere.

Thank you
lelos
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2016 11:15 am

Re: Forecasting with Vintage data

Postby jpfeifer » Fri Sep 09, 2016 6:11 pm

See the manual of the unstable version
------------
Johannes Pfeifer
University of Cologne
https://sites.google.com/site/pfeiferecon/
jpfeifer
 
Posts: 6940
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 4:02 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany

Previous

Return to Dynare help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 6 guests