Another Question about estimation

This forum is closed. You can read the posts but cannot write. We have migrated the forum to a new location where you will have to reset your password.
Forum rules
This forum is closed. You can read the posts but cannot write. We have migrated the forum to a new location (https://forum.dynare.org) where you will have to reset your password.

Another Question about estimation

Postby bigbigben » Tue May 20, 2008 6:09 pm

When we estimate DSGE models, sometimes we use some parameters to compute the other, for exampl, the values at steady state are used as paramters in the linearized model but they are computed by other structural variable.

For example, if I write the following in dynare

var x y z;
parametere beta n_ss r_ss pi_ss;
beta=.99;
r_ss=1/.99;

model;
.......
end;
estim_params
beta,beta_pdf,.99,.1;
end;
estimation

Would Dynare alternate the value of r_ss when the value of beta changes during iteration process ?
bigbigben
 
Posts: 171
Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 1:19 am

Re: Another Question about estimation

Postby StephaneAdjemian » Wed May 21, 2008 7:12 am

No Dynare won't update r_ss consistently with beta except if you declare a macro in the model block. For example, your model block will look like:

model;
#r_ss = 1/beta ;

...

x = r_ss*x(-1);

end;

The sign # is used to declare the macro r_ss (which is not declared as a parameter in the model).

Best,
Stéphane.
StephaneAdjemian
 
Posts: 429
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2005 4:24 pm
Location: Paris, France.


Return to Dynare help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests