Dynare on Matlab 2008 Linux 64 bit: problems with ordqz

This forum is closed. You can read the posts but cannot write. We have migrated the forum to a new location where you will have to reset your password.
Forum rules
This forum is closed. You can read the posts but cannot write. We have migrated the forum to a new location (https://forum.dynare.org) where you will have to reset your password.

Dynare on Matlab 2008 Linux 64 bit: problems with ordqz

Postby lombard » Wed Nov 04, 2009 4:28 pm

Hi,

I have the following problem

I start Matlab 2008 on a Linux server.

I have 2 matrices A and B. I use function qz and ordqz of Matlab w/o having used Dynare since starting Matlab and get correct results.

then I run Dynare once. I repeat the experiment and I get warning messages of divisions by zero when use the function ordqz.

There does not seem to
be clashes with functions names (indeed it happens even if I remove Dynare from the path)

I attach the two matrices (change the extension from txt to mat). You can try to reproduce the problem by typing in Matlab

Code: Select all
load A_matrix_tes
load B_matrix_tes
[a,b,Q,Z]=qz(A,B);
[a1,b1,Q1,Z1]=ordqz(a,b,Q,Z,'udo');


Best

Gianni
Attachments
B_matrix_tes.txt
change extension from txt to mat
(3.66 KiB) Downloaded 93 times
A_matrix_tes.txt
change extension from txt to mat
(1.89 KiB) Downloaded 73 times
lombard
 
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 12:36 pm
Location: Basel

Re: Dynare on Matlab 2008 Linux 64 bit: problems with ordqz

Postby SébastienVillemot » Fri Nov 06, 2009 9:46 am

Hi Gianni,

This is because Dynare activates the display of all warnings.

Launch MATLAB, and without running Dynare, type:
Code: Select all
warning on;
load A_matrix_tes
load B_matrix_tes
[a,b,Q,Z]=qz(A,B);
[a1,b1,Q1,Z1]=ordqz(a,b,Q,Z,'udo');


You will get the warnings!

So this has nothing to do with Dynare, the problem (if any) comes from your matrices.

Best,
Sébastien Villemot
Economist at OFCE – Sciences Po
SébastienVillemot
 
Posts: 706
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 2:29 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: Dynare on Matlab 2008 Linux 64 bit: problems with ordqz

Postby lombard » Fri Nov 06, 2009 10:56 am

Hi Sébastien,

thanks for the reply.
I did not realize Dynare switched all warnings on :oops: .

It seems though that the problem lies with MATLAB 2008.
For those interested...
the matrices I posted are the matrices of a two-country model with financial frictions and sticky prices. It solves fine in Dynare and with other solvers. The function ordqz of Matlab works fine with Matlab 2007 but gives the warning with Matlab 2008 (both Windows and Linux) :evil: .

Best

Gianni
lombard
 
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 12:36 pm
Location: Basel


Return to Dynare help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 10 guests