A question on impluse reponse function and "stoch_simul"

This forum is closed. You can read the posts but cannot write. We have migrated the forum to a new location where you will have to reset your password.
Forum rules
This forum is closed. You can read the posts but cannot write. We have migrated the forum to a new location (https://forum.dynare.org) where you will have to reset your password.

A question on impluse reponse function and "stoch_simul"

Postby miao » Thu Apr 15, 2010 3:25 am

Hi,

I have a simple dynare program to calculate the impulse response of an AR1 system:
Three commands, "shock", "estimation" and "stoch_simul" are applied in order. Does the "stoch_simul" calculate the impulse response produced by "estimation" rather than "shock"? Is the "shock" block redundant in this case?
If we consider a bigger macro-money model, is it the case that we can compute only the reponse of endogenous variables to "one-standard-deviation shock" to the policy rate equation rather than to "one-percent-point rate cut"? Is there an easy way to calculate the IRF to "one-percent-point rate cut"?

Thanks,

Miao



var r;
varexo a ;
parameters phi0 phi1;

phi0=1;
phi1=0.8;

model;

r = phi0 + phi1*(r(-1))+a;

end;

shocks;
// This line seems to be quite unrelated to the results?
var a; stderr 0.1;

end;

varobs r;


estimated_params;
phi0, 1, 0.01,10;
phi1, 0.8, 0.01,1;
stderr a, 1, 0.01,10;
end;


steady;
check;

options_.kalman_algo = 5;
estimation(datafile=datatest100_100414_std1, nobs=100, mode_compute=4, mode_check, mh_replic=0);
stoch_simul(linear,irf=10);
miao
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2009 2:15 am

Re: A question on impluse reponse function and "stoch_simul"

Postby p.gelain » Sun Apr 18, 2010 7:36 pm

If you estimate the shock standard deviation I think dynare takes that value in computing the IRF. So as you said the shock block is redundant. If you want to compute the response of endogenous variable to one-percent-point rate cut, using estimated values, a strategy would be to use the shock block to set the standard deviations of all the parameter at their estimated values normalized by the monetary policy shock standard deviation. In fact if you divide the monetary policy shock standard deviation by itself you obtain 1 (so 1% change in interest rate). In dividing all the other standard deviations by the monetary policy shock you obtain consistent IRFs.

Paolo
p.gelain
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 9:13 pm
Location: Norges Bank

Re: A question on impluse reponse function and "stoch_simul"

Postby otb » Mon Apr 19, 2010 5:35 pm

You can also use the relative_irf option with stoch_simul. This will generate impulses relative for a 100 basis points change in the interest rate.
otb
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 4:47 pm

Re: A question on impluse reponse function and "stoch_simul"

Postby miao » Tue Apr 20, 2010 9:04 am

Thanks for the replies by p.gelain and otb.

Let me ask one fundamental question:
Consider the simple AR1 model r = phi0 + phi1*(r(-1))+a; where phi0=1.5; phi1=0.5; a~N(0, std=0.8). (the program is shown at the bottom of the post, modified from my first post on this topic). It is easy to see that the impulse response is 0.8 at time 0 , 0.4 at time 1, and 0.2 at time 2, etc. However the time convention in Dynare seems to be different from mine, which makes the IRF 0.8 at time 1 , 0.4 at time 2, and 0.2 at time 3, etc?
My first major question is: how is the IRF computed in Dynare?
If I do it by hand, I will set a=0.8 at time 0 and then solve the equation in r. By iteration, we will find r(t+1), r(t+2).....The difference between r(t+n) after shock and r(t+n) without any shock is the IRF. Is it what dynare does?
How does the function work if we use "data (real or simulated)" and the function "estimation" before "stoch_simul"?
Does the function "stoch_simul" employ any random number generator? I didn't find any Matlab random number generator in the source code of function stoch_simul. Why do we call it "STOCHASTIC" simulation?

Your help is highly appreciated!

var r;
varexo a ;
parameters phi0 phi1;

phi0=1.5;
phi1=0.5;

model;

r = phi0 + phi1*(r(-1))+a;

end;

shocks;

var a; stderr 0.8;

end;

stoch_simul(order=1,irf=10,simul_seed=1);
miao
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2009 2:15 am

Re: A question on impluse reponse function and "stoch_simul"

Postby miao » Tue Apr 20, 2010 9:04 am

Thanks for the replies by p.gelain and otb.

Let me ask one fundamental question:
Consider the simple AR1 model r = phi0 + phi1*(r(-1))+a; where phi0=1.5; phi1=0.5; a~N(0, std=0.8). (the program is shown at the bottom of the post, modified from my first post on this topic). It is easy to see that the impulse response is 0.8 at time 0 , 0.4 at time 1, and 0.2 at time 2, etc. However the time convention in Dynare seems to be different from mine, which makes the IRF 0.8 at time 1 , 0.4 at time 2, and 0.2 at time 3, etc?
My first major question is: how is the IRF computed in Dynare?
If I do it by hand, I will set a=0.8 at time 0 and then solve the equation in r. By iteration, we will find r(t+1), r(t+2).....The difference between r(t+n) after shock and r(t+n) without any shock is the IRF. Is it what dynare does?
How does the function work if we use "data (real or simulated)" and the function "estimation" before "stoch_simul"?
Does the function "stoch_simul" employ any random number generator? I didn't find any Matlab random number generator in the source code of function stoch_simul. Why do we call it "STOCHASTIC" simulation?

Your help is highly appreciated!

var r;
varexo a ;
parameters phi0 phi1;

phi0=1.5;
phi1=0.5;

model;

r = phi0 + phi1*(r(-1))+a;

end;

shocks;

var a; stderr 0.8;

end;

stoch_simul(order=1,irf=10,simul_seed=1);
miao
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2009 2:15 am


Return to Dynare help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests